UEW Signs MoU with Ada College of Education, 14 others

UEW Signs MoU with Ada College of Education, 14 others

The University of Education, Winneba (UEW) on Thursday, 12th September, 2019 signed Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) with 15 Colleges of Education affiliated to the University for mentoring and continuous professional development.

The Colleges of Education (CoE) are Ada College of Education, Akatsi College of Education, Presbyterian College of Education, Bagabaga College of Education, Bia Lamplighter College of Education, Komenda College of Education, Mampong Technical College of Education, Methodist College of Education, Nusrat Jahan Ahmadiyya (NJA) College of Education, Agogo College of Education, Presbyterian Women’s College of Education, S.D.A. College of Education, St. John Bosco College of Education, St. Louis College of Education and Wiawso College of Education.

The Colleges have been affiliated to UEW as part of the government of Ghana and the Ministry of Education reforms in the educational sector and the introduction of the new B.ED programme. Following the affiliation, UEW through the Institute for Teacher Education and Continuing Professional Development (ITECPD) organised series of sensitisation workshops for the affiliate Colleges to equip them for the new academic year.

The Vice-Chancellor, Rev. Fr. Prof. Anthony Afful-Broni, in his address, expressed optimism that the two institutions would work collaboratively to ensure that standards of National Council for Tertiary Education (NCTE) would be adhered to ensure the highest academic quality of students, teachers and teaching in Ghana as a whole.

The Registrar, Surv. Paul Osei-Barima Esq., closing the ceremony, assured of UEW’s continuous support to the affiliate Colleges to become better and well-resourced.

Among the University officials present were the Ag. Pro-Vice-Chancellor, Prof. Ruby Hanson; Dean, School of Research and Graduate Studies, Prof. George Kankam; Director, ITECPD, Prof. Dominic Danso Mensah; Director, Institute for Distance and e-Learning, Prof. Francis Owusu-Mensah; Deputy Registrar, ITECPD, Mr. Steve v. Kamasseh, University Liberian, Mr. Viscount Buer; Ag. Director, Physical Works and Development, Arc. Kwame Danso; Senior Accountant, Mr. Albert Samuel Cromwell, Heads of Department and Assistant Registrar, Legal Services, Mr. Robert Twene Esq.

Principals of the CoE present were Mr. Cephas Kwasi Bodakpui, Mr. John Engelbert Seddoh, Mr. George Buernortey Appah, Dr. Amadu Musah Abudu, Dr. Samuel Agyemang, Rev. Dr. Kwesi Nkum Wilson, Ms. Doris Boakye Ansah, Very Rev. Solomon Gyamerah and Asma-u Ismail,

Other Principals included Dr. Harriet Naki Amui, Rev. Esther Agbodeka, Prof. William Koomson, Mr. William Anamoo Atindana, Ms. Dame Comfort Boakye-Mensah and Dr. Emmanuel Carsamer.

Leave a Reply